Key DBA’s Weblog

April 26, 2008

In Transition Part 3 or House Hunting Trip Day 2 of 3

Filed under: Uncategorized — keydba @ 5:09 am

The Garmin model is a Street Pilot c550.  Amazingly we were out the door of the hotel and on the road by 8:30 AM.  After a quick breakfast, Mrs. Garmin (the female voice) led us to my new office building where I will be working for CompanyB.  My Fiancee and I came up with the idea to drive from the new office to possible rental locations to make sure each address was within the “thirty minutes from work” rule.  Of the six locations we had narrowed our search down to, three of the locations (two houses and one apartment complex) were beyond the half hour window.  The first of the three remaining choices for Round One got moved to the back of the line due to the fact that no one was at the Management Office, despite the blue and white “OPEN” sign smack dab in the middle of the door window.  The events at the second location was a real eye opener for the both of us.  We were really excited about this location due to the fact that I had sent an email to the property Management last night, after having reviewed the floor plans online, as well as the price ranges for the units via www.forrent.com .  On our way to track down one of the rental houses, a representative of this complex had called us, and confirmed that they had units that were in our price range, had units available when I need to take possession, and all of the amenities we want.  I let the representative know that we would be stopping by as soon as we could.  Upon arrival, I introduced myself, my Fiancee introduced herself, and we began to explain our limited time in the St. Louis area to secure housing, my start date of May 12, 2008, as well as the amenities that we wanted at a minimum.  She checked her available unit list, and stated that she has several units available, and she would be more than happy to show one or more units to us, as soon as she took a copy of each of our Drivers Licenses, and began to run a credit check.  The credit check came back in a moment or so.  Now for the fun part … 

Being an average American I have less than perfect credit, so in order for this apartment rental property company to protect themselves, they wanted roughly $800.00 U.S. Dollars PLUS six months rent before we could take possession of an eight hundred square foot, one bedroom, second floor apartment.  Basically with a one year lease, we would be paying for the first month, and the eighth through the twelfth months before moving in.  We did some quick math, and calculated that we would need $5,680.00 U.S. Dollars … in the form of a cashier’s check.  I thought to myself, “If we had more than $6,000 in liquid assets, we would not be renting!”  While my Fiancee and I were reeling about the audacity of this place, the representative asked us if we wanted to see an empty unit.  Again, I thought to myself, “Oh, this have to see!  At least I will get an idea of what they are so proud of.”  I exchanged a quick glance and a shrug with my Fiancee, and told the representative that we would like to see it.  There was nothing special to note about the unit, and it had all new GE appliances.  We told her that we would be in touch no later than close of business tomorrow.

We were off to our last hope for the day.  In about two hours, we had toured three units, had my credit checked, had a background check, my employment verified, and a current renters check made with our current rental company made.  We also wrote checks for our security deposit, pet deposit, and application fee.  I will take possession of the new apartment on May 9, 2008.  Our mission of securing housing was accomplished!  With a huge weight lifted off our shoulders, we headed back to the hotel to rest.  After some lounging around, we decided to grab some dinner.

Tomorrow, Saturday, we have the entire day to ourselves.  I will be contacting the Technical Recruiter that found me for CompanyB.  She wanted to meet us for dinner.

— Key

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

