Key DBA’s Weblog

April 25, 2008

In Transition Part 2 or House Hunting Trip Day 1 of 3

Filed under: Uncategorized — keydba @ 5:27 am

Today was a busy day.  I worked a half day at CompanyA.  Spent my morning briefing my replacement at CompanyA, going over the morning reports to review, and working through a new SQL Server 2005 Cluster that the Server Team brought online last night.  Unfortunately, I was not included in the proper email distribution list, so I spent about a half hour troubleshooting an inactive SQL Server 2005 instance.  A quick call to the Senior Systems Administrator, got me in touch with the Server Team Member that migrated the databases from the single instance to the Active/Passive SQL Server 2005 Cluster.  The Server Guy hadn’t realized that I was “out of the loop” and got me added to the list, to avoid this in the future; and granted my access request to both Server nodes, as well as SA rights to the SQL 2005 Instance.  This was a great opportunity to show my replacement how to incorporate a new SQL Server 2005 Instance into my automated monitoring application.  (I will elaborate more about this system when I get back to CompanyA office next week.)  I began documenting the Server Name, IP Address, SQL Server Version and about a dozen other factoids into my master list of database systems.  All of this took me up to about Noon.  The end of my half day of work.

I then drove home, grabbed my Fiancee, the laptop, and our one bag and drove the 65 miles to the Orlando International Airport.  Then we flew to St. Louis for a House Hunting Trip, courtesy of CompanyB.  The flight was uneventful except for the recipe I learned (by observation) from the nice older lady next to me.

 Southwest Airlines Trail Mix

Yield: About a half cup
Ingredients:

  • One package of salted, roasted peanuts
  • A single 100 Calorie Pack of Cheese Nip Thin Crisps

Directions:

  1. Open both packages.
  2. Dump contents of both packages onto a napkin.
  3. Mix ingredients to desired mixitude.
  4. Enjoy!

Optional:

  • Bring your own Raisins.
  • Enjoy with a beverage!  I observed the making of this recipe enjoyed with a Coca Cola, which I gladly opened for the nice lady.

Other than a little bit of a rough landing, we arrived in St. Louis, MO.  Picked up our bag from Baggage Claim, and took the shuttle to the rental car lot.  We had our choice of a PT Cruiser, or an HHR.  PT Cruiser won because it was the default in the system.  We opted to pick a Garmin GPS unit, I will get the model of the unit tomorrow, it seems to be more accurate that other models I have used in the past.

The Female Garmin Voice took us to the hotel.  We checked in, got our room keys and dropped off our things.  Then I called the Real Estate Agent that CompanyB has helped place employees relocating to the area for the past eight years.  Due to the short notice of this trip for us, he was already booked Friday and Saturday.  So, to accommodate us, he met us for dinner at a local restaurant within walking distance of the hotel.  He brought along a map and several apartment hunting guides.  Over the course of several hours and a nice Mexican dinner he proceeded to give advice on what parts of the St. Louis area he has placed people in, as well as what places will fit our budget as well as the amenities that we will need.  We have at least a half dozen good leads on places to check up on for Friday and Saturday.  It is almost 12:30 AM Central time (1:30 AM Eastern).  More on our experiences tomorrow.

— Key

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

