Key DBA’s Weblog

April 23, 2008

In Transition Part 1

Filed under: Uncategorized — keydba @ 11:42 pm

I am in the process of changing jobs.  I have given my two week notice at CompanyA in Daytona Florida; and will be moving to work for CompanyB in St. Louis, Missouri.  Why?  CompanyB is willing to pay me more in salary while I administer a smaller database environment.  During the next few weeks, I will be posting my experiences while I make the transition from the old job to the new one.

I made the mental decision to start a BLOG for a few months.  It will be written from my perspective about everything I go through in my Professional life.  My day-to-day mundane tasks, interesting technological advances I come across, custom scripts that I develop to solve problems, scripts I find and modify for my needs, as well as comments and observations.  I will do my best to make a posting every day, which will slowly evolve into a habit as I incorporate the time I carve out of my schedule to sit down and type up my experiences of the day.

NOTE TO SELF: DO NOT refresh browser or mess around with network settings while writing blog entry! Or, if I do, save the last half hour of unsaved work to a Text file first, so I don’t have to retype it again! *slaps palm to forehead*

While I was on the phone with my Father, I mentioned the idea of creating this online Journal after my first day at CompanyB.  He really liked the idea BUT suggested that it could be a real eye opener for me to start documenting my experience now, while I am wrapping things up for CompanyA and all of the “stuff” that I go through during my job change.  Hopefully someone reading my postings will be able to glean some tips or make fewer mistakes that I did for this whole shift of lifestyle.

— Key

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

